Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, March 2, 2022

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, March 2, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Land Acknowledgement

Dr. Ailsa Craig provided the Land Acknowledgement:

We respectfully acknowledge the territory in which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk, and the island of Newfoundland as the ancestral homelands of the Mi'kmaq and Beothuk. We would also like to recognize the Inuit of Nunatsiavut and NunatuKavut and the Innu of Nitassinan, and their ancestors, as the original people of Labrador. We strive for respectful relationships with all the peoples of this province as we search for collective healing and true reconciliation and honour this beautiful land together.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (H. Everett/C. Thorne). Carried.

3. Approval of the Minutes

Moved and Seconded that the minutes of February 2, 2022 meeting be approved (S. Curtis/H. Everett). Carried.

4. Update from Chair, Curriculum and Programs Committee (2021-2022) (N. Catto), followed by motions listed below:

- Calendar Change Proposals
- Political Science Graduate Changes 2022 (Second: Liam Swiss; Carried)
- Major and Minor in Medieval and Early Modern Studies (Second: Bill Schipper; Carried)

No other updates.

5. Update from Chair, Planning and Research Committee (2021-2022) (C. Thorne)

- Dr. Thorne gave an overview of results of the Equity Survey, stating that the committee is still working on the final report. That report may be issued for next Faculty Council Meeting.

6. Updates from Acting Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (S. Hoff)

- Dr. Hoff expressed appreciation and thanks for the amount of work and effort being put into Calendar Change Proposal submissions.
- Online Course Development Proposals have been submitted by departments and will be reviewed this week; the SGS deadline for Faculty submissions is March 7.
- Dr. Hoff expressed thanks to all departments for participating in curricular review meetings with herself and Dr. Craig; these meetings help cultivate transparency, communication, and mutual understanding.

7. Updates from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- A notice was issued for requests regarding Collective Agreement 3.26 remissions; deadline is April 15, 4 pm.
- There are upcoming workshops, webinars, and information sessions in support of grant and funding opportunities; first is slotted for March 22 re: Partnership Opportunities.
- The Grants Facilitation Officers are available to assist if there are any questions, if there is further investigation needed, or if there is interest in something of a collaborative nature with regard to grants and funding opportunities; they may also be able to assist with grant extension enquiries, as some items are coming up to end of fiscal year.
- The Dean's Office is working towards an in-person event for the annual "A Fine Crowd" to be held in early May.
- A reminder will be issued about the CFREF opportunity that was announced recently.

8. Dean's Remarks

- CERC update: Faculty proposal has been approved for CERC program, and we have been given approval to search for a candidate; the federal government makes the final decision; a call will be issued for search committee members; Dr. Allen gave a description of what the CERC proposal is and what it represents for HSS; Dr. Craig and Dr. Allen expressed appreciation to everyone who participated in putting the proposal together.
- Anti-racism committee will meet on March 11; Dr. Craig is co-chairing, and they will start work on terms of reference and on recommendations and action items for our Faculty.
- Provost, Dr. Florentine Strzelczyk, will be leaving and taking up a position at Western University, finishing at MUN April 30; Dr. Margaret Steele will serve as Interim Provost.
- The VPR has announced that Violet Ford, Associate Vice President (Indigenous Research) submitted resignation as of Friday March 4; until a replacement can be found, direct any queries to Indigenous research@mun.ca.
- Dr. Craig will bring concerns raised about departures at the senior level at the University to the Dean's Council.
- COVID protocol update: University communications have been issued and the mask mandate is to remain in place at least until end of term; the VPR's Office issued communications for Research protocols.
- In response to query regarding necessity for additional travel insurance for health due to COVID, Dr. Craig will get information and distribute to Heads.

9. Announcements, Any Other Business, Questions

- In response to a query about revising teaching plans to address budgetary problems (money saved, expected impact on enrollments and PCI offerings), Dr. Craig will obtain information and distribute; Dr. Hoff noted that the goal was to avoid having a negative impact on enrollments.
- Dr. Craig stated that there is nothing definitive on tenure-track positions as of yet; the Deans will be making presentations and conversations are still happening.

10. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 1:50 p.m.

Next Faculty Council Meeting: Wednesday, April 6, 1:00 p.m.

LIST OF ATTENDEES:

John Geck (English), Cory Thorne (Folklore), Norm Catto (Geography), Renee Shute (HSS), Seamus O'Neill (Philosophy), Tana Allen (HSS/Classics), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Agnes Juhasz-Ormsby (English), Karin Thomeier (Digital Learning Centre), Holly Everett (Folklore), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Courtney Loveless, Arn Keeling (Geography), Dave Wilson, David Hancock, Dominique Bregent-Heald, Hannah Borotsik, Jennifer Dyer (Gender Studies), Jennifer Lokash (English), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Julie Kavanagh, Karen Stanbridge, Kathleen Lahey, Ken Hopkins (HSS), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Lincoln Addison (Anthropology), Maria Mayr (MLLC), Matthew Milner (HSS/History), Meghan Frosyth, Melanie Doyle, Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Patricia Dold (Religious Studies), Paul De Decker, Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Rebecca Newhook (Co-op Education), Renee Skinner, Robert Ormsby (English), Robin Whitaker (Anthropology), Samantha Lehman, Sarah Kuelan, Sarah Thorne (English), Sebastien Rossiognol (History), Shannon Hoff (HSS/Philosophy), Stephan Curtis (History), Theresa Mackenzie (Co-op Education), Vaughan Grimes (Archaeology), Wade Locke (Economics), Walter Okshevsky (Education), Wendy Mosdell (English), Yolande Pottie-Sherman (Geography), Adrienne Peters (Sociology), William Schipper (English), Christopher Cogan, Christopher Lockett (English), Corey Tatz, Danine Farquharson (English), Heather C. O'Brien (HSS), Jay Foster (Philosophy), Jeff Howard, Luke Roman (Classics), Michelle Rebidoux (Religious Studies), Alex Marland (Political Science), Melanie Doyle

Regrets: Andrea Keating, Shannon Lewis-Simpson, Blair Winsor, and Karen Dobbin-Williams
